translation is a funny thing


The students at school here all have what they call their mekonekits, loosly translated to home room teacher. This is the person in charge of them, who makes sure they go to class, deals with home life situations, financial difficulties (if they need scholarship) and is the only “real” disciplinary they have, cause lets face it they don’t listen to the teachers. Well yesterday one of the teachers asked Melissa how you would translate the word mekonekit. Mel told her homeroom teacher is the best, but there isn’t a good translation, we don’t really have anything the same in English. The teacher followed with “You dont call it a Master?” Master….the only time this word has ever been used in reference to people was in the days of slavery. Master, ha, thats funny. It would be a master if the students had a fear in them. Master implys total control, against the will even, and this is most definately not the case here. Israeli students lack many things, but the human will is not on the list. Flashbacks of Roots came into my mind as Melissa was telling this story to me, and as I did my best LeVar Burton impersonation, Melissa looks to me and says, “I don’t like that voice.” I guess I’ll keep it with the word master, far far far away from the Israeli School System.

Leave a comment